The Marriage License may be obtained at any Virginia Circuit Court. There are no residency requirements. The minimum age for marriage without parental consent is 18. Proof of age may be required. In cases of remarriage after a divorce or death, the date of the divorce or of the spouse’s death is also required. There is no waiting period in Virginia. The license is valid for 60 days after issuance.
The marriage license must be given to the clergy, as a representative of the State, prior to the wedding ceremony. Couples must bring the license to the wedding rehearsal.
The Role of the Clergy
- According to the Church’s Canon Law, each couple is required to schedule a series of premarital counseling sessions with the officiating priest.
- All services conducted by the Clergy are normally held in the Church. Except in unusual circumstances, weddings will not be scheduled between Ash Wednesday and Easter.
- The Rector has the final word in all arrangements with regard to the use of the church, the music and the service itself.
- With the Rector: six to 12 months before the service.
- Setting a date and reserving the church: Before reserving the church and setting a date the bride and groom must obtain permission from the Rector, complete the Wedding Application and sign the Statement of Intent. When all paperwork is returned to the office a date will be reserved. After setting the date the couple must make appointments with the Center for Pastoral Counseling, the officiating clergy, the Director of the Altar Guild, and the Organist.
- With Center for Pastoral Counseling: Four to six months before the service.
It is the policy at St. Luke’s that, after an initial meeting with the clergy, the couple meet with a counselor at the Center for Pastoral counseling located at St. Luke’s. The couple will meet with the counselor for four 50 minutes sessions each for a total package fee of $300. (Please note: if the $300 fee is an extreme financial burden on the couple, then funds are available to assist in covering the cost). Upon completion of their four sessions the couple will receive a “certificate good for a one year check-up” free of charge as a wedding/anniversary gift. Couples are encouraged to view these conferences as opportunities to discuss, in a climate of trust and understanding, their relationship and how they may continue to grow therein.